MINI MINUTES April 26, 2021 Board Meeting

I would like to begin by acknowledging that we are in Treaty One territory and that the land on which we gather is the traditional territory of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene peoples and the homeland of the Métis Nation.

Received as Information / Updates

- Collective Bargaining.
- Personnel Matters.
- COVID-19.

Approved

- That the Secretary-Treasurer respond to SOTA's request to begin negotiations with the Board.
- That the Board approve Administration to forward the Five-Year Capital Plan 2022-2023 to 2026-2027 to Manitoba Planning and Analysis, Capital Planning and Agreement Management, Central Services.
- That having completed our due diligence investigations and satisfied ourselves that the property meets the requirements for a future school site the Board remove its purchase conditions and seek the final approval from Central Services Manitoba for the purchase of PARCEL A PLAN 66483 WLTO IN RL 26 PARISH OF KILDONAN from 1910588 Alberta Ltd.

Approved for Payment

 Expenditure Listing to April 22, 2021. That cheques #2210775 to #202107914 and #1496 to #1507, US cheques #221034 to #221059 and pre-authorized debits #2021185 to #2021378 in the amount of \$36,769,891.14 be approved.

Correspondence

- Morgan Whiteway, A/Director of Labour Relations, Manitoba School Boards Association. Liability coverage.
- Manitoba Education, Budget 2021. Budget 2021 makes record investment of \$3 billion in K-12 education.
- Manitoba School Boards Association. CPI Unemployment update March 2021.
- Government of Manitoba, Education Property Tax Rebates. Legislation to allow nearly \$250 million in rebate cheques to homeowners.
- Cliff Cullen, Minister of Education. April 19 to 23, 2021 Education week in Manitoba.
- Manitoba School Boards Association. e-bulletin April 21, 2021.
- École Leila North School. Thank you to the Board for their continued support and lunches provided for the staff.
- École Templeton Thank you to the Board for their continued support and lunches provided for the staff.

Personnel Report

- Will Burton was appointed to the position of Vice-Principal, Met Centre for Arts & Technology - West Kildonan Collegiate, effective September 7, 2021.
- Tanya Kohut was appointed to the position of Principal, Forest Park School, effective September 7, 2021.
- Harpreet Panag was appointed to the position of Principal, A.E. Wright Community School, effective September 7, 2021.
- Amandeep Bhullar was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective April 19, 2021 to June 30, 2021.
- Brandon Bytheway was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective May 10, 2021 to June 30, 2021.
- Deepa Joseph was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective May 6, 2021 to June 30, 2021.
- Tara Mota was appointed to a half-time (.50) Teacher-General (Permanent) contract effective April 26, 2021.
- Jayne Nowicki was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Teacher-General (Permanent) contract effective September 7, 2021.
- Missy Penner was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Teacher-General (Term) contract effective April 26, 2021 to June 4, 2021.
- Jonathan Rhoda was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective April 26, 2021 to June 30, 2021.
- Christine Wren was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective May 17, 2021 to June 30, 2021.
- The following teachers were appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective May 3, 2021 to June 30, 2021.

Tiana Beaudry	Sara Jantzen
lan Brereton	Rebekah Johnson
Mae De Claro	Cain Kiddell
Navdeep Dhaliwal	Kuljinder Maan
Heather Fast	Catlin Magus
Keara Feely	Christopher Mar
Rob Gardiner	Kait McCormick
Kristen Myska	Jeffrey Regan
Miguel Palma	Angelica Roque
Lisa Hocking	Annaka Van Huizen
	()) (' (/ OO)) (''()

- The following teachers were appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective May 4, 2021 to June 30, 2021.
 Malina Harynuk Darashdeep Kambo Jessica Westerlund
- The following teachers were appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective May 5, 2021 to June 30, 2021.
 Naomi Dennie Ainslie Perron Christina Dolloff

 The following teachers were appointed to a full-time (1.00) Teacher General (Permanent) contract effective April 26, 2021.

Kira Burkett Larissa Chubenko Emma Dempsey Sabrina Ferraz Sean Fitzmaurice Manpreet Grewal Jatinder Jaura Erica Kirton Karissa Morwick Ikjot Uppal

- Lindsay Kasper was appointed to a Substitute Teacher contract for the 2020-2021 school year.
- Jeff Cieszecki was granted a full-time (1.00) leave of absence, as per Article 6.05 of the Board-SOTA Collective Agreement, for the 2021-2022 school year to serve as SOTA Vice-President.
- Suzi Friesen was granted a full-time (1.00) leave of absence, without pay, effective September 7, 2021 to June 30, 2022.
- Michael Giffen was granted a full-time (1.00) leave of absence, as per Article 6.05 of the Board-SOTA Collective Agreement, for the 2021-2022 school year to serve as SOTA President.
- Christopher Szturm was appointed to the position of Bus Driver effective April 26, 2021.
- Jennifer Pitcairn was appointed to a full-time permanent (7 hours per day) Library Technician position effective August 3, 2021.